Leftover Soup!

We had the family over for Thanksgiving yesterday, and it seemed to go well.  Loosing weight is paying off in unexpected ways – I remarked to DH last night before bed that I was in much better shape than I usually was after a dinner party.  Mum said much the same today, when she called.

Of course, in the spirit of overachievement (read:  I couldn’t stuff the turkey carcass into the fridge), I cleaned the meat off the turkey bones last night and threw them into a pot to make the stock while everyone was watching the ball game after dinner.  (Go Jays Go!)

And before noon today, I had everything is back to rights, with the kitchen floor swept and washed and all the dishes done.

With the weather turning cold, I’ve been thinking of switching out our lunchtime salads for vegetable soups a few times a week.

Pretty much anyone who has done WW has seen their Zero Point Cabbage Soup recipe.  It’s the inspiration behind this one, which I made today with the turkey stock from last night.

A few quick notes:

  • I used the white parts of green onions that I had used for the Rice Paper Salad Rolls (appetizers) in place of the regular onions;
  • The tomato paste comes from a tube, so you don’t have to worry about opening a whole can just to get a tablespoon;
  • I used leftover carrots and green beans, so I added them each one stage later so as not to overcook them;
  • I used about 1/4 of a small, Savoy cabbage, and shredded it with a knife, but you could just as easily use coleslaw mix…
  • if you don’t like something in here, or you don’t have enough of something, improvise!  Pretty much any other free vegetables can be tossed in.

img_0149

Leftover Soup (6 servings – 2 vegetable servings each)

3 cups turkey stock*

2 tsp garlic paste (from the tube) or 2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp tomato paste

2 cups cabbage, shredded

1⁄2 cup onion, chopped

1 cup carrot, copped

1 cup green beans, chopped

1 cup bell pepper, chopped

1⁄2 tsp dried basil

1⁄2 tsp dried oregano

salt & pepper, to taste

dash hot pepper sauce or pinch smoked paprika or hot pepper flakes

fresh basil leaves (optional)

img_0148
Shredded Savoy Cabbage, Red Bell Peppers and cooked Green Beans & Carrots

Directions

  1. Spray the inside of a heavy-bottomed pot with cooking spray for two seconds.  Sauté the onions, carrots and garlic for 5 minutes.
  2. Add broth, tomato paste, cabbage, green beans and herbs.  Add salt & pepper to taste.
  3. Simmer for another 5-10 minutes, until all vegetables are tender.
  4. Add the pepper.  Simmer for another 5 minutes.
  5. Top with a chiffonade of fresh basil, if desired.

By my calculations, a serving of this is 2 free vegetables.

Husband-approved!

I used this tonight with my dinner.  Mixed about half a serving into a NS Ravioli and Meat Sauce dinner entrée to loosen it up and add some vegetables, then topped with a tablespoon of Philadelphia Whipped Cream Cheese – Chive Flavour, and some fresh basil.  Yummy!img_0153

Look for some more ‘free’ vegetable soups in upcoming posts – I found a recipe for old-time parsnip soup in a book I’ve been reading, and I want to try a beet soup.  Oh, and there’s that ‘X-Ray’ soup from “Basic Cooking” that I want to make-over…

Insert:  Well, the Parsnip Soup ended up being a SmartCarb per serving, but it’s tasty and high in fiber!

* If you are using homemade stock, cool in the refrigerator overnight and remove any fat from the top in the morning.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Northern Sunset

Leave a Reply

