Lasagna Soup

Hey, everyone!

I picked up a new ‘toy’ over the weekend – a 1.5 quart (about 6 cups) crockpot!  It’s so cute…img_0162

…and the small size is perfect for the two of us and a portion-controlled dinner.  Crockpot dinners are dead simple, too!

I got to use it today.

It was so nice to toss things in first thing in the morning, and come home to find dinner ready to eat!  (Well, okay, DH took the initiative and made the salads for lunch tomorrow and roasted vegetables to go with dinner before I got home.  I had something else in mind, but…Yay! Yummy and no waiting!)

Ingredients (for 2 servings)

2 pkg NS Lasagna with Meat Sauce

pinch hot pepper flakes

1 tsp dried Oregano

1 cup diced tomatoes (I used canned)

1 cup beef broth

1/2 small onion, chopped

1 lg mushroom, chopped

img_0163
Cut the lasagna into bite-sized pieces

Method

  1. Start by cutting up the lasagna entrées into bite-sized pieces in the containers;
  2. Empty into a 1.5 quart crockpot.  Follow with remaining ingredients.
  3. Stir.  Cover and set to low for up to 10 hours.
  4. Enjoy!

Just remember not to overfill the crock. I’d leave about 1/2 inch from the top as a gap.  If you are using a 2 quart crockpot, you could probably fit an extra serving of vegetables for each of you in there, making this into a complete dinner.

img_0165
Ready to Serve

I wasn’t as fond of this one as some of my others, but DH said he’d eat it again, no problem.  The next time I make this, I’ll probably toss some fresh basil on top before serving.

 

Don’t forget, you can always adjust the spices and herbs in a recipe, depending on your taste.

By my calculations, one serving = 1 NS Dinner entrée & 1 serving of vegetables.

We’ve got guests coming over tomorrow for a game night, but I’ll try to get the Pizza Night pictures up sometime tomorrow night because we’re going to be super-busy the rest of the weekend.   I’m planning to switch out the mozzarella for some goat cheese, and add roasted beets and some fresh basil.  I’m just debating plain vs. tomato sauce vs. a tsp of olive oil and/or a drizzle of balsamic…  Any suggestions?

Good night!

Northern Sunset

Leave a Reply

