Curried Chicken Penne

Hi Folks!

Sorry I haven’t posted much lately, but I felt that while most of the dishes I tried last week weren’t bad, they weren’t quite what I was aiming for, which was a rose sauce.   So, I’ll play around with those a bit more, and post the results when I’m happy with them.  In the meantime, couple of new ideas!

I tried the onion dip from The Leaf over the weekend.  It was pretty good, but if if you decide to give it a try yourself, you might want to cook the onions and garlic over mediumlow heat, not medium-high as the recipe calls for.  It started to burn pretty quickly, and I had to turn it down twice.

img_0257
Tomato Flower

The “Tomato Flower” consists of 1/3 cup of dip surrounded by grape tomatoes on a saucer.

 I figure that much of the dip is about an Extra.  

I roasted some squash last Friday, before everyone showed up for our Game Night, and seasoned it with a medieval spice mix known as “Poudre Fort“.  (This translates roughly to ‘Strong Powder’.)  One of my medieval reference texts  (The Medieval Kitchen – Recipes from France and Italy by Odile Redon, Francoise Sabban and Silvano Serventi) says that the mix contains black pepper, long pepper (taste-wise, a cross between black pepper and anise), cloves and nutmeg.

I really enjoyed the combination, so I tried it on my Pizza last Friday, with roasted onions and some crumbled pecan pieces, and a bit more of the spice mixture. It was really tasty, but a bit dry.  Next time, I think I’ll use half a PowerFuel worth of pecan pieces, and half a PowerFuel worth of plain goat cheese…img_0256

The following recipe was inspired by a recipe that used to be on the menu at a chain called Moxie’s, when it first opened in this area about 15 years ago.  If fact, I think that was what I had for lunch the day DH proposed…  Then they took it off the menu, and we haven’t gone back!

Curried Chicken Penne (for 1 serving)

Cooking Spray

1/4 tsp curry powder

1/2 onion, chopped

1/4 apple, chopped or in matchsticks

1 pkg NS Chicken Alfredo

water

1 tbsp Mango Chutney

Method

  1. Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat;
  2. When it is ready, spray with cooking spray;
  3. Add the curry, and heat until it becomes fragrant;img_0258
  4. Add the onions and apple, and cook – stirring occasionally – until they are soft; img_0260
  5. Add the Chicken Alfredo and combine.  (You may need to add a bit of water.); img_0262
  6. Just before serving, mix in the mango chutney.  Serve with Roasted Veggies.

DH has never been overly fond of white sauces, but I got him to try this.  He liked it enough to agree to order a Chicken Alfredo next month, so that I can make this again – for two, next time!

I saved 1/4 of an apple from my afternoon snack to use in the penne.

The orange triangles around the header picture are roasted squash with Cajun spices on it.

By my calculations, this recipe is a serving of vegetables, a NS Dinner Entree and an Extra (from the chutney).   IF you don’t or can’t save the apple from one of your SmartCarbs, count it as another Extra.

Take care, everyone!

Northern Sunset

 

 

Leave a Reply

